Random Reflections!

thoughts, views, news and plenty of rants

School decision and related stuff

Posted by nixbert on September 15, 2007

So now that I am over and done with my GMAT, next logical step is obviously the school selection and the admission process.

And this is where the fun starts! I’ve been thinking about my school choices for months now but have not arrived at any obvious answers. So far there are only 3 clear answers in my mind.

(In no particular order)

1. LBS – Considering that I have permanent residency for UK, this school is very attractive to me. Bring the current H1-B scenario into the picture and LBS seems to click all the right buttons.

2. Tuck – Don’t ask me why but I just keep coming back to this school over and over again. All that I’ve ever read, hear, felt makes me want to apply here. And no I don’t have a very compelling reason. I just somehow want to.

3. ISB – This school makes tremendous sense in Indian context. Given my long term aim of operating in and out of India, I cannot keep this school out. Also, since my closest buddy was in class of ’07 and I kept visiting him a number of times, I’ve vicariously soaked in a lot of ISB experience. I liked it very much so this school is definitely in.

Apart from these schools I don’t have a clue. I have not decided on how many to apply and where to apply. I just do not want to make the same mistakes as last time.

While on the subject – I came across a very thoughtful article on MBA Rankings. Here it is. It is a particularly useful article, more so because it consolidates all the major rankings in one place so you don’t have to keep hopping here and there to check them out.

Leave a Reply

 
